Happy Birthday to MVP

Happy Birthday to MVP birthday cake

It is the first Anniversary of My Village Project,.

Since, August 2014, I have posted close to 100 articles and gained close to 60 followers.

Thank you all for taking the time to read what I write.

My posts don’t get a lot of conversation or a ton of likes, that’s okay.

My Goal is to inform and encourage; I want to inform you about the issues facing our youth and encourage you to mentor the youth in your life.

Please feel free to use my posts as a platform for conversation with the young people in your life.

My mentoring efforts have been focused on my grandchildren and the children on my block. I still desire to expand my efforts to a greater areal of the community.

I recently wrote an article called the boogie man. This week I was reminded that the boogie man is real

On August, 9, 2014 Michael Brown, an 18 year old youth, who was visiting family in St Louis Mo, was shot and killed by a police officer. We don’t know all of the details, but the people who observed the incident say that the action was not justified, the young man had his hands in the air.

Over the July 4, holiday, a young man in Chicago was shot and killed by the police. People who observed the incident say that the young man had is hands in the air. . His name was Warren Robinson.

On July 17, 2014 In New York, Eric Garner, died as a result of a very aggressive arrest attempt.

California Highway Patrol officers beat a woman right on the side of the freeway.

Remember the Jena 6? Tray von Martin, Kendrick Johnson, Rodney King? Yes the boogie man is alive and is changing his strategy.

I used to believe that I could teach my children to be respectful and compliant when dealing with the police. I am not sure anymore.

Add these incidents to youth violence and gang activity, teen pregnancy, drug and alcohol use, car accidents, sporting accidents, incarceration, child abuse, kidnappings and other tragedies, and you can understand my concern.

Please mentor someone today.

It takes a village to raise a child, this is my village project.

The Village Mother.

Please Comment, I need the feedback

