The art of assembly

 

Image    

The Art of Assembly

 

There are many forms of assembly; meals, entertainment, events, school, Church and office. Assembly varies depending on custom, culture and the reason for assembling in the first place.

 

In some homes dinner is a gathering around the stove or table, every fixes a plate and retreats to their own space. In other homes dinner is thanksgiving style everyday of the year.

 

But this article is not about dinner, it is about the art of assembly, no matter what the reason.

 

Recently, I had my third monthly meeting with the Grandchildren. They don’t know anything about assembly. I see the same thing at church, the kids, slouch and slump, squirm and play.

 

I don’t know if it is this fast paced world we live in or if the parents have neglected to teach the children to sit still and be quiet.

 

There are days, when I see my grand daughter turn on her tablet, play a game and listen to her music play list, while trying to have a conversation with me.

 

I see my grandson, adjust his shirt, tie his shoes, and wiggle in the chair 10 times in 5 minutes, he might need professional help.

 

I see this same antsy behavior over and over again in all types of settings, the kids don’t know how to sit still.

 

Well. Now, I have to put on my Grand Mother Hat.

 

The first item on the March Meeting Agenda will be a lesson on assembly.

 

After that I will use the age old method of having my young people sit on the couch without moving for up to 30 minutes. Everyone should be able to sit still and pay attention for 30 minutes No excuses, no bathroom break, no drink of water. Sit up, Sit Still, and Be Quiet.

 

Maybe the young people in your life need a lesson on assembly too.

 

Here are some pointers

 

  • Manage your own behavior only

  • Don’t have side conversations.

  • Stay in your seat.

  • Hold your questions til the end of the presentation.

  • Don’t read other material or day dream

  • Keep your eyes on the speaker

  • No headphones

  • Don’t play with your hair, nails, clothing etc.

  • Don’t open crinckely candy and gum wrappers.

  • Don’t yawn and stretch

  • No water drinking the meeting

 

It takes a village to raise a child, this is My Village Project

 

Take care of your village.

 

 

The Village Mother

 

 

 

 

 

Please Comment, I need the feedback

